Summer Yum Spinach Salad

Standard

I am pleased to announce that I am finished with the coursework for my Masters in Education in Reading Speciality.  Between pushing hard to finish that this summer and school beginning again, life has been crazy- oh ya and to make life even more interesting we recently moved.  There are still a few stray boxes and nothing on the walls (this weekend’s goal) but life is overall good- I just have not had free time and energy to post anything.  Good food is still pumping out of my kitchen though. We recently tried Tempeh for the first time, not bad,  and are doing better about eating more beans and other good plant based proteins.   If I want to get anything posted anytime soon I am going to have to compromise – So I plan to post several backlogged recipes with minimal added details (such as why and how it is healthy).  Today I would like to share another yummy spinach salad idea.  I got the idea from  Whole Living magazine, they had a whole article on raw foods. My favorite that we tried was this. Although I changed it drastically… 🙂  Let’s just say the original included marinating raw fish… and eating it raw.  No thanks!  I’d rather eat this yummy vegan version! 😀

 

 

It was supposed to be a wrap but I didn’t want to buy the special lettuce it called for (it wasn’t in good shape at the store and was not the cheapest).  So I hoped I could just use spinach.  Well maybe that would have worked if I used smaller filling slices.  So I ate a few this way, but then decided to just make it into a salad. 

 

Here is How:

Mango

Avocado

Red and Yellow Bell Pepper (orange would be good too!)

Spinach 

Lemon Juice

Chop or slice mango, avocado and pepper, coat in lemon juice, then either put on top of or wrap in spinach or whatever lettuce/green you have around (the darker the healthier!) 

Yum! 🙂

 

PS – I am having issues with this blog… today I cannot even change the font style or size. I don’t know if its me or wordpress… but I may have to look into a new site to use.  I’ll be sure to let you know if I move, until then- sorry about the tiny font. 😦

About kitchenadventurer

I love to create. I love to eat. I love to explore and have adventures. I love to use healthy ingredients and know why they are good for me. I hope you enjoy my blog and that you are inspired to try something new! :) My best advice: Don't be afraid to experiment, try new ingredients and break away from the recipe. If you fail- you just learn how NOT to do something next time!

Leave a comment