White Bean Alfredo

Standard

I was standing in the pantry trying to decide what to make for dinner.  Lot’s of Wegman’s Super Pasta and caned organic beans that I had stocked up on last time we were in VA.  I must have seen something like this in a food magazine recently because the idea of making an Alfredo sauce with white beans came to me.  I looked up the idea online to see how crazy of an idea this was. Not crazy apparently- there were plenty of vegan recipes out there for white bean Alfredo sauce.  I was ok with using some cream and the shredded parmesan cheese I had in the fridge so I looked around at a few idea and then made this:

IMG_2655.JPG

Ingredients:

pasta of choice

1 can cannellini beans

1-2 cloves garlic

a few tablespoons of olive oil or oil of choice (I love avocado oil)

1/8-1/3 cup of shredded Parmesan or strong cheese of choice (optional) The vegan version would use a tablespoon of nutritional yeast instead.

1/4-1/2 cup of milk

How to:

Mince garlic and let it rest a few minutes (this increases its awesomeness.. seriously look it up.)

  1. Get water boiling for pasta and oil warming in a skillet
  2. Rinse canned beans and drain then place in food processor or blender
  3. Sauté garlic for a minute or two to get it slightly cooked before adding it to the food processor with the beans.  You may need to add a little liquid- water, oil, or milk… any would be fine. Maybe even a splash white wine.. hmmm could be interesting?  Blend until smooth.
  4. Empty beans and garlic into a skillet and simmer adding a little milk to make it the consistency you desire. Then in the last minute or two add the cheese.  I am thinking capers or olives could be a great addition as well but maybe I am crazy. 🙂
  5. Hopefully you figured out that you need to cook the pasta according to package directions and you can serve this sauce over it.  I like it with a side of steamed broccoli as well.

There you have it! A protein and fiber filled yummy comfort food style dinner. So good and easy!

Enjoy!

About kitchenadventurer

I love to create. I love to eat. I love to explore and have adventures. I love to use healthy ingredients and know why they are good for me. I hope you enjoy my blog and that you are inspired to try something new! :) My best advice: Don't be afraid to experiment, try new ingredients and break away from the recipe. If you fail- you just learn how NOT to do something next time!

Leave a Reply

