Raspberry Cream Cheese Scuffins

Standard

What is a scuffin???  I’m glad you asked! The scuffin is the love child of a muffin and a scone with the eyes of a cheese danish. 🙂   Now, I must start with a disclaimer. I used to work at a bakery that made scuffins but this is NOT their recipe.  I was never in charge of making any recipes at this bakery and the recipe below is what I developed based on several recipes I found online, specifically working off this one from the NY Times .  So hopefully that is enough detail to cover myself to prove that this is not a recipe from the bakery I once worked at.  However the craving to make my own did 100% result from the amazingness of this bakery’s treats.

IMG_0666

Recipe:

1 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup all purpose flour (I’ll be honest, sometimes I use 1 cup white four and 3/4 cup ground oatmeal if I don’t have whole wheat flour in the house… it works just fine. Of course you can use all white flour too- just hold back a tiny bit on the half and half)

2 tablespoons ground flax seed

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 egg

2/3 cup half and half (or other form of milk or even non dairy milk will work)

1/2 cup fresh or frozen berries of your choice (my favorite is raspberries)

4 tablespoons butter

1/3-1/2 block of plain cream cheese.

Preheat oven to 350*

Mix all dry ingredients then add melted butter .

Mix wet ingredients in a separate bowl then add to the dry and mix well.

Last, add most of the cream cheese and all the fruit and mix gently.  I love large blobs of cream cheese in my final product so that is why I told you to only mix in most of the cream cheese. The remaining part should be added as small chunks to each scuffin as it goes onto the baking sheet.

Spoon large chunks of the batter (adding small chunks of cream cheese to each) onto a baking sheet and bake 10-15 minutes until scuffins are firm.

Be sure to eat one right out of the oven… that’s when they are the best! 😀

This recipe only makes about 5 scuffins depending on how big you make them.  They are perfect for breakfast or a heathy snack on the go!

About kitchenadventurer

I love to create. I love to eat. I love to explore and have adventures. I love to use healthy ingredients and know why they are good for me. I hope you enjoy my blog and that you are inspired to try something new! :) My best advice: Don't be afraid to experiment, try new ingredients and break away from the recipe. If you fail- you just learn how NOT to do something next time!

Leave a Reply

